Outstanding Achievement Awards 


The CEEQUAL Outstanding Achievement Awards are unique awards first created in 2011 to recognise and acknowledge projects that demonstrate pinnacle best-practice performance in any of area of a CEEQUAL assessment, irrespective of the total score and CEEQUAL Award achieved. They highlight the very best performance being achieved by civil engineering project teams around the world.

2016 Outstanding Achievement Awards

The 2016 Outstanding Achievement Awards will be held on Monday 28 November 2016 at the Institution of Civil Engineers in Westminster, London.

Book your place now

Please download and return a completed booking form (PDF, 239 KB) to book your place at this prestigious event. A limited number of tables and individual tickets are available for the night.

Award categories

  • Project/Contract Strategy (Version 5 only)
  • Project/Contract Management
  • Effects on Neighbours
  • Community & Stakeholder Relations
  • Land Use
  • Landscape (Rural, Townscape, Seascape)
  • Flood Risk
  • Restoration of Contaminated Land
  • Ecology & Biodiversity
  • Historic Environment
  • Water Environment (Fresh & Marine)
  • Water Resources
  • Energy & Carbon
  • Material Use
  • Waste Management
  • Transport

Award nominations

Nominations for the awards are now closed. Thank you to all the projects who submitted nominations. Winners will be announced at the awards dinner on 28 November 2016.

Award winners

An independent panel of guest judges will review the nominations with the CEEQUAL Technical Director, Ian Nicholson, and the winners will be announced at the awards dinner on 28 November 2016. Awards will only be made in categories where the judges feel outstanding performance has been demonstrated; no awards will be made if the judges feel that pinnacle best practice hasn’t been demonstrated.



Volvo Group are one of the world’s leading manufacturers of trucks, buses, construction equipment, drive systems for marine and industrial applications and also provide complete solutions for financing and service.


Any questions?

Please contact us if you have any questions about the 2016 Outstanding Achievement Awards.

Past awards

2013 Outstanding Achievement Awards

CEEQUAL hosted its second Outstanding Achievement Awards on 11 March 2013 at the Institution of Civil Engineers, One Great George Street, London. From a total of 45 applications, 15 projects and contracts received awards – a diverse group of projects and contracts chosen by the judges for their demonstration of genuine excellence.

In addition to the OAAs, the judging panel also awarded the Eric Hughes Award for ‘Outstanding Contribution to Improving Sustainability in Civil Engineering’. This award was created in recognition of the contribution to CEEQUAL by its second Chairman, Eric Hughes. The first recipients were jointly the London Organising Committee for the Olympic Games (LOGOC) and the Olympic Delivery Authority (ODA) in recognition of their outstanding achievements at the Olympic Park, London. Read more…

CEEQUAL also celebrated at the event its 10th Anniversary since the start of operations, and remains the longest running assessment, rating and awards scheme of its kind. 

2011 Outstanding Achievement Awards

The first Outstanding Achievement Awards dinner and presentation took place on 14 March 2011 at the the Institution of Civil Engineers, One Great George Street, London. Eight projects were presented with Outstanding Achievement Awards (OAA) and nine other projects were Highly Commended.

No Awards or commendations were given in two categories – ‘Energy & Carbon’ and ‘Transport’ – due to the nature of the Outstanding Achievement Awards: if no project demonstrates outstanding, pinnacle best-practice performance in one of the sections, then no Award is given. As the Chairman of Judges, professor Paul Jowitt explained, CEEQUAL’s OAAs are not just a ‘best in show’ award. Read more…